Will I ever be a writer?

I’ve learnt more about myself in the passed year than at any other time of my life. I know I have the discipline to write but do I have the talent?You see I always thought that talent was the key, until I met some amazingly talented people who are having trouble getting passed the agents guard dogs and then read some rather uninspiring books by people who should have been eaten alive by said dogs. You see it seems to me that luck plays a tremendous part on the road to authorville and i’m not sure how blessed I am with that yet.

Last year one of my best friends told me that I was all talk and no action and that I’d never managed to keep a single one of my news year’s resolutions in the whole time he’d known me. I was annoyed because I knew he was right, so this is me taking some action and throwing caution to the wind. I didn’t bother making any resolutions this year, I just decided it was time to get selfish and do something I truly loved doing.

I guess I live in hope that my hard work and determination will pay off, or else I’m never going to silence the voices in my head that are begging me to tell their stories. You see I write because it’s the only way to make room in my brain for everything else I have to remember. Somedays the stories of the characters that become dear to me come thick and fast, other days they doze lazily waiting for me to shake them back to life. Sometimes I think they get so fed up with me changing my mind about their direction that they just plain ignore me, I can understand that.

Each character I create becomes part of my life and although it’s been a long time since either of my teenage children woke me up in the middle of the night, my new MC might. I have lost count of how many late night scribbles on the backs of scrap pieces of paper found in the bedside cabinet have turned into great chapters, well great to me.

4 Comments

Filed under My hopes on writing

4 responses to “Will I ever be a writer?

  1. Joy

    If you believe in what you’re doing then you’ll have the determination to get your stories finished. Or, it could be that when you finish, your characters would have won the battle to get you to write their stories down.

  2. Thanks Joy. I very much believe in what i do so i will give myself a mental push and allow my characters to lead me they wish to go.

  3. Yes, you are a writer. Take it from someone else who doubts herself all the time. I believe I am a writer… somedays. And I believe you are a writer, too! I have faith that you are going to do amazing things with your books.

    • Lets make a deal to be positive and i promise that if there comes a day that i am lucky enough to get an agent i will slide Twenty five onto their desks every day. lol x
      but i so no you won’t need that, you’ll be way ahead of me.
      lol x x x x

Leave a Reply

